Foreign Language Exams

The Faculty of Arts conducts examinations in foreign languages, coordinated by the Center for Pedagogical Education.

Productive knowledge of a foreign language has become a necessity, and our European space promotes multilingualism and life-long language learning. Special attention has been devoted to the acquisition and teaching of foreign languages in the European Union from its inception, while the preservation of linguistic and cultural diversity was also simultaneously promoted.  Many of those who possess knowledge of a foreign language often require formal proof of this competency. To this purpose, the University of Ljubljana's Faculty of Arts provides exams in foreign languages, coordinated by the Centre for Pedagogical Education (CPE). This exam is intended for candidates with at least a minimum knowledge of a foreign language who require a certificate of knowledge of a foreign language for personal or official purposes, e.g. for enrolment in graduate study, applying for employment or a scholarship, or for study abroad. The Faculty of Arts only offers exams, while the choice of language education is at the candidate's discretion.

Languages Available

We offer exams in 21 languages. The examination usually includes testing communicative competencies in four categories, namely: writing, reading comprehension,  oral communication, and listening comprehension.

English

Name and surname Room Contacts
red. prof. dr. Agnes Pisanski Peterlin
 
OP
 
agnes.pisanski@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 15 10
doc. dr. Nataša Hirci
 
23a
 
natasa.hirci@guest.arnes.si 
T: 01 241 15 04
red. prof. dr. Jason Blake
 
303
 
blake.jason@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 60
red. prof. dr. Lilijana Burcar
 
117 A
 
lilijana.burcar@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
lekt. mag. Zorka Jakoš
 
117 A
 
zorka.jakos@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
lekt. dr. Veronika Rot Gabrovec
 
318
 
veronika.rot-gabrovec@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 66
red. prof. dr. Janez Skela
 
314
 
janez.skela@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 40
lekt. dr. Cvetka Sokolov
 
117 A cvetka.sokolov@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
doc. dr. Andrej Stopar
 
315
 

andrej.stopar@guest.arnes.si

 T: 01 241 13 60

lekt. dr. Mirjana Želježič
 
117 A
 
mirjana.zeljezic@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
doc. dr. Tamara Mikolič Južnič  23a

 tamara.mikolic@guest.arnes.si

T: 01 241 15 04

 lekt. dr. Lara Burazer  314

 lara.burazer@guest.arnes.si

T: 01 241 13 40

Czech

lekt. Bojana Maltarić Aškerčeva 1, 
Kabinet 15
bojana.maltaric@siol.net
T: 01 241 16 82

Esperanto

asist. dr. Simona Klemenčič

 

R 15 B/I 

 

simona.klemencic@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 26 
T: 01 470 62 27 

French

lekt. dr. Jacqueline Oven 427 B
 
jacqueline.oven@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 04
lekt. mag. Nataša Žugelj 427 B 
 
natasa.zugelj@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 04

Greek (old and new)

izr. prof. dr. Jerneja Kavčič 328 
 
jernejakavcic@hotmail.com
T: 01 241 14 16

Croatian

doc. dr. Tatjana Balažic Bulc 217  tatjana.balazic-bulc@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 12 96

Italian

lekt. dr. Jana Kenda 402 jana.kenda@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 12
doc. dr. Tamara Mikolič Južnič  23a

tamara.mikolic@guest.arnes.si

T: 01 241 15 04

Japanese

izr. prof. dr. Shigemori Bučar Chikako R6B I 
 
Chikako.Bucar@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 08
doc. dr. Kristina Hmeljak R10B1 
 
Kristina.Hmeljak@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 46
doc. dr. Nagisa Moritoki R6B1 Nagisa.Moritoki@guest.arnes.si

Chinese

red. prof. dr. Mitja Saje R7B1 
 
Mitja.Saje@guest.arnes.si 
T: 01 241 14 48
red. prof. dr. Jana S. Rošker R12B1
 
Jana.Rosker@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 98
izr. prof. dr. Mateja Petrovčič R11B1
 
mateja.petrovcic@yahoo.com
T: 01 241 14 44
izr. prof. dr.. Nataša Vampelj Suhadolnik R11B1
 
natasavampelj@yahoo.com
T: 01 241 14 44

Latin

lekt. Breda Čop 327
 
breda.cop@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 18
lekt. Barbara Šega Čeh 327 barbara.sega@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 18

Hungarian

Tamás Kruzslicz   kruzslicztamas@gmail.com

Macedonian

izr. prof. dr. Namita Subiotto 208
 
namita.subiotto@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 12 74

German

doc. dr. Andreja Retelj 317

andreja.retelj@ff.uni-lj.si

T: 01 241 1344

doc. dr. Urška Valenčič Arh  

urska.valencic-arh@ff.uni-lj.si

T: 01 241 1354

dr. Mojca Leskovec 317

mojca.leskovec@ff.uni-lj.si

T: 01 241 1344

Polish

izr. prof. dr. Maria Wtorkowska Tobačna 5, 
Kabinet 5/2/03
mwtorkowska@yahoo.com
T: 01 241 16 42

Portuguese

lekt. dr. Blažka Müller-Pograjc R 8 B/I blazka.müller@guest.arnes.si
041 523 758

Rusian

lekt. Marina Spanring Poredoš 212
 
marina.spanring@gmail.com
T: 01 241 12 86

Slovak

lekt. Darija Pivk Tobačna 5, 
Kabinet 1
darija.pivk@siol.net

Srbian

lekt. dr. Tatjana Balažic Bulc 217 tatjana.balazic-bulc@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 12 96

Old Greek

lekt. mag. Jelena Isak Kres 327 jelena.isak@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 18

Spanish

 lekt. Andreja Trenc  R 5 B/I

andreja.trenc@ff.uni-lj.si

 T: 01 241 1442

Swedish

lekt. Mita Gustinčič Pahor 13 Mita.GustinčičPahor@ff.uni-lj.si

 

No special preparations are required to attend the examination (e.g. no special preliminary courses). Suggested forms of preparing for the examination include reading texts in the target language, reviewing grammar, writing short essays, listening to authentic texts in the target language, etc.). The level of language knowledge tested at the examination is not specified by the examination catalogue, but can be described by the “communicative” model, taking into account the level of the candidate’s independence when communicating in the target language. The examinations are of a practical nature:  they are based on language usage and the ability to communicate about current social, everyday, and political topics, etc. Candidates can obtain more detailed descriptions of the examinations and instructions regarding exam preparation from individual examiners during their office hours or via e-mail.

Stopnja znanja jezika, ki se ocenjuje na izpitu, ni določena z izpitnim katalogom, lahko pa jo opišemo v "sporazumevalnem" smislu, kar pomeni, da se upošteva raven kandidatove oz. kandidatkine samostojnosti pri sporazumevanju v ciljnem jeziku. Izpiti so zato pragmatično zasnovani: na njih se upošteva jezikovna raba, tj. npr. zmožnost sporazumevanja o aktualnih družbenih, vsakdanjih, političnih temah ipd. Spričevalo ne navaja ravni po Skupnem evropskem jezikovnem okviru (SEJO).

The candidates should visit the CPE (5th floor, Room 508) during office hours (every day 11:00–13:00) and before attending the examination.

The contact person for information regarding foreign language examinations is Luka Hrovat (luka.hrovat@ff.uni-lj.si, Phone: +386 1 241 10 46).

When Can I Attend the Exam? 

There is no official schedule for foreign language examinations. The candidate is required to contact the appropriate examiner for each language and set the date and time. The locations of examiners at the Faculty of Arts can be found here.

The price of a foreign language examination is 123,02 EUR. Upon payment, the candidate receives two copies of the foreign language examination form (“Certificate of Knowledge of a Foreign Language”). If the examination fee is being paid for by your employer or another legal person, you must submit the original order form in advance. Complaints made at a later time will not be considered.

Upon successful completion of the examination, the candidate submits two copies of the form “Certificate of Knowledge of a Foreign Language” to the CPE, including personal information and the address to which the certificate is to be delivered. The latter will be delivered via mail within five days.

© Faculty of Arts, University of Ljubljana | All rights reserved.

Cookies Privacy Policy

Design and development: ENKI

Iščem ...